Historic Gympie Station
It’s not only history lovers or railway buffs that will appreciate the lovingly restored railway station that stands proudly beside the railway tracks today.
Open seven days a week, every guest will find something unique to take their attention or transport them back to a long-gone era in the station that was built in 1913, replacing the original station building demolished in 1911-12.
Consistent with the time, it is built of timber, in the type of railway architecture referred to as the “Pagoda’ style, typified by the multiple layered eaves. Through the years many additions and modifications were carried out to include a refreshment room, telegraph and booking office and even a cellar to keep the necessities cool. These facilities are easily recognised in their re-purposed format in the station today.
The platform was converted into an island arrangement with a new track on the eastern side commencing use in June 1913 with new quarters for train crews and a new signal cabin completed in late 1914. The platform was lengthened in 1927 and modern signaling and interlocking systems were installed two years later. A modern innovation was a subway-type street entrance.
Gympie’s Historic Station appears to be the largest timber railway building constructed in Queensland during the twentieth century, and it can certainly be argued that it is one of the most stylish and elaborate within the context of timber railway architecture in Queensland.
Visit today to find the Rusty Rails Café, the Booking Office, Retail Store and Museum open for business.